I’m Not a Humanist, Because I’m a Feminist

MySurmise

The more and more I hear stories of people being afraid of feminism and hiding from the term, I feel more and more sad that the definition of and need for feminism is being questioned. Recently, the Women’s Huffington Post published the quotes of ten celebrities as they explain why feminism is scary and how they stay away from it. This is extremely disappointing since many of these people are role models to women and are extremely visible in popular culture.

Kelly Clarkson begins the article by displaying a thorough misunderstanding of modern feminism. “No, I wouldn’t say feminist — that’s too strong. I think when people hear feminist, it’s like, ‘Get out of my way, I don’t need anyone.’ I love that I’m being taken care of and I have a man that’s a leader. I’m not a feminist in that sense.” Kelly Clarkson

I admit that…

View original post 466 more words

About arnulfo

veterano del ciberespacio
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

