Lots And Lots Of foldLeft Examples

Matt Malone's Old-Fashioned Software Development Blog

In my last post I reviewed the implementation of scala.List’s foldLeft and foldRight methods. That post included a couple of simple examples, but today I’d like to give you a whole lot more. The foldLeft method is extremely versatile. It can do thousands of jobs. Of course, it’s not the best tool for EVERY job, but when working on a list problem it’s a good idea to stop and think, “Should I be using foldLeft?”

Below, I’ll present a list of problem descriptions and solutions. I thought about listing all the problems first, and then the solutions, so the reader could work on his own solution and then scroll down to compare. But this would be very annoying for those who refuse, against my strenuous urging, to start up a Scala interpreter and try to write their own solution to each problem before reading my solution.

Sum

Write a function…

View original post 2,647 more words

About arnulfo

veterano del ciberespacio
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

